Brave New World – Satire

IMG_0114

Questions:

What is satire?

  • Satire is when someone uses humor, exaggeration, or irony to depict and give an opinion about a serious issue or matter. Satire generally criticizes people’s stupidity or the foolishness of an institution / larger group.

 

What is the tone of satire? (Horatian, Juvenalian)

  • Horatian is gentle and aims to correct the issue through sympathetic laughter. Horatian satire criticizes issues by drawing generally funny images. Juvenalian, on the other hand, is more biting and harsh; it aims to correct the evil in society by attacking it through ridicule. Juvenalian evokes severe feelings. The tone of satire I used for my drawing was Horatian. I was aiming for people to sympathetically giggle to the image so that they can understand the flaw that I’m trying to emphasize with a more gentle approach. My drawing isn’t biting nor does it attack the issue with anger. By making mine look like a newspaper clipping and magnifying the words to stretch the truth, I’ve been able to make it purposefully absurd.

 

What institution, practice or group is being satirized?

  • The practice that is being satirized in my image is hypnopaedia, also known as sleep-teaching. This practice is introduced in the novel as a method of conditioning children, under the age of sixteen, to memorize phrases unconsciously. These phrases are repeated to them 100 times, three nights a week for an entire year. Thanks to the repetitions they are fed, these sentences are cemented into their minds and those chained words are what they revolve their lives around. My satire is also making fun of all the “subjects” it teaches. What I did is state the obvious, or in this case, the truth that the government is hiding from the apathetic populace. The government is hypnotizing them with these phrases to get them to not as questions, follow instructions, and kill dreams.

 

What method is being used to construct the satire?

  •  The technique that I used to construct my satire is exaggeration. I made my satire look as if it were a newspaper ad clipping and then I used words to exaggerate the true depiction of hypnopaedia in the book. I stated the hidden truth to why the government put this practice forth, making it humorous. “COME BUY THE NEW HYPNOPAEDIC RADIO!! NOW FOR ONLY YOUR THOUGHTS AND INDIVIDUALITY!” This little quotation is revealing the government’s reasons for obligating their people to listen to these discs but through a very exaggerated way. I emphasized the word ONLY as if your individuality and thoughts were as worthless as a grain of sand. I exaggerated and stretched the words so that the faults are clearly seen.
Leave a Reply

